St Albans: what their redundancy policy pays
Sourced from St Albans's own published policy, retrieved 2026-08-19.
St Albans's own policy
Published as Pay Policy Statement 2025-26.
St Albans's policy states: 2.2 x statutory. This is calculated on an unspecified basis: the published document does not state whether it uses actual or capped weekly pay.
"Any redundancy pay is calculated on the basis of an individual's age and length of service (up to a maximum of 20 years' service). The compensation and statutory redundancy payment are based on the employee's weekly pay and the Council currently applies a multiplier of 2.2 to any statutory payment."
Like every local authority, St Albans sets this policy under its own discretion (regulation 6 of the 2006 Regulations, below) and can amend it. Read the document itself rather than relying on this summary alone: Pay Policy Statement 2025-26, retrieved 2026-08-19.
A note on this figure: Approved by Full Council 26 February 2025. Document is a legacy .doc file; text extracted via strings. No LGPS 55+ strain-cost position stated in this document.
A note on these figures: the policy details below are published fromSt Albans's own linked source document and are correct to our knowledge as at 2026-08-19. Treat them as indicative, read the source document for yourself, and check your own offer against it. Read how our figures are checked.
How this compares with the statutory minimum
Every employee with at least two years' service is entitled to statutory redundancy pay regardless of what their employer's own policy says. As at 6 April 2026, that is calculated using a week's pay capped at £751, up to a maximum of £22,530 for 20 years' service at age 41 or over.
St Albans's discretionary policy sits on top of that statutory floor, not instead of it: the statutory redundancy payment is calculated first, and the council's own enhancement (above) applies in addition, on the basis stated in its policy document.
LGPS and early pension access
Under regulation 30(7) of the Local Government Pension Scheme Regulations 2013, an LGPS member aged 55 or over who is dismissed for redundancy or business efficiency is entitled to immediate payment of their pension, rather than waiting until normal pension age. This is separate from, and on top of, any redundancy payment above.
St Albans's published policy document does not separately address LGPS strain-cost or pension access, so this page does not state a council-specific position. See our local government redundancy guide for the general rule and its source.
Source: LGPS Regulations 2013 (SI 2013/2356), regulation 30(7). Read the regulations. This does not compute a pension figure; it states the rule only, and does not replace advice from your pension fund.
Settlement agreements at St Albans
Where a council wants to agree enhanced terms, confirm the LGPS position, or resolve a related dispute alongside a redundancy, it is often documented in a settlement agreement rather than a plain redundancy letter. A settlement agreement is only legally binding once you have received advice on its terms from a relevant independent adviser such as a solicitor, and your employer is usually required to contribute to the cost of that advice.
Before you sign anything, work out what St Albans's own policy and the statutory minimum add up to on their own, so you can see what a settlement offer is actually adding.
Related
Get your redundancy offer reviewed
A relevant independent adviser, such as a solicitor, can check how St Albans's offer compares with your statutory entitlement and their own policy before you sign anything. Your employer is usually required to contribute to the cost.