Ashfield: what their redundancy policy pays
Sourced from Ashfield's own published policy, retrieved 2026-08-19.
Ashfield's own policy
Published as Pay Policy Statement 2026 to 2027, reviewed annually on or before 31 March each year.
Ashfield's policy states: statutory redundancy pay plus a multiple of x1.33. This is calculated on an unspecified basis: the published document does not state whether it uses actual or capped weekly pay.
"Statutory redundancy pay plus a multiple of x1.33 is applicable in cases of voluntary or compulsory redundancy. Employees also receive contractual notice when served notice of redundancy, which is ordinarily worked."
Like every local authority, Ashfield sets this policy under its own discretion (regulation 6 of the 2006 Regulations, below) and can amend it. Read the document itself rather than relying on this summary alone: Pay Policy Statement 2026 to 2027, retrieved 2026-08-19.
A note on this figure: Document does not state whether the underlying statutory calculation uses actual or capped weekly pay, nor an LGPS 55+ strain-cost position; it references a separate 'Discretionary Compensation Payment Policy' that was not located.
A note on these figures: the policy details below are published fromAshfield's own linked source document and are correct to our knowledge as at 2026-08-19. Treat them as indicative, read the source document for yourself, and check your own offer against it. Read how our figures are checked.
How this compares with the statutory minimum
Every employee with at least two years' service is entitled to statutory redundancy pay regardless of what their employer's own policy says. As at 6 April 2026, that is calculated using a week's pay capped at £751, up to a maximum of £22,530 for 20 years' service at age 41 or over.
Ashfield's discretionary policy sits on top of that statutory floor, not instead of it: the statutory redundancy payment is calculated first, and the council's own enhancement (above) applies in addition, on the basis stated in its policy document.
LGPS and early pension access
Under regulation 30(7) of the Local Government Pension Scheme Regulations 2013, an LGPS member aged 55 or over who is dismissed for redundancy or business efficiency is entitled to immediate payment of their pension, rather than waiting until normal pension age. This is separate from, and on top of, any redundancy payment above.
Ashfield's published policy document does not separately address LGPS strain-cost or pension access, so this page does not state a council-specific position. See our local government redundancy guide for the general rule and its source.
Source: LGPS Regulations 2013 (SI 2013/2356), regulation 30(7). Read the regulations. This does not compute a pension figure; it states the rule only, and does not replace advice from your pension fund.
Settlement agreements at Ashfield
Where a council wants to agree enhanced terms, confirm the LGPS position, or resolve a related dispute alongside a redundancy, it is often documented in a settlement agreement rather than a plain redundancy letter. A settlement agreement is only legally binding once you have received advice on its terms from a relevant independent adviser such as a solicitor, and your employer is usually required to contribute to the cost of that advice.
Before you sign anything, work out what Ashfield's own policy and the statutory minimum add up to on their own, so you can see what a settlement offer is actually adding.
Related
Get your redundancy offer reviewed
A relevant independent adviser, such as a solicitor, can check how Ashfield's offer compares with your statutory entitlement and their own policy before you sign anything. Your employer is usually required to contribute to the cost.